Relationshhip between Softaculous and Wordpress

Can you/anyone help me correctly perceive what is going on with the relationship between softaculous and WordPress?

I enter the back-end of my website
American$: https://www.americans-restored.com
via the admin-link in softaculous…

My website opens but now I am in a different environment which I am assuming, that I am literally now within the WordPress environment. Which I assume should be also attached to Wordpress.com, but it isn’t…

Anyways, so this new environment that I am in has all of my plugins… However if I look back at the softaculous environment it doesn’t have any plugins…

So I am in a third-party scenario? If so, is there any reason, (because I’m a complete Rookie, with zero experience), to remain in this third-party status? I typically avoid third-party scenarios as much as possible… Also softaculous’s environment looks much richer?

Thanks to All!

WordPress is both a company and a product. The software you are installing from Softaculous is the WordPress product (php software). The company (WordPress) runs a service that provides hosting. You could pay them to host your WordPress site instead of using InfinityFree. So, your WordPress.com account really has nothing to do with the local php software you have installed via Softaculous. For your WordPress you should always log in from the InfinityFree site. The one thing you can do on WordPress.com is set up your Gravatar (avatar) images that will appear on different WordPress sites.

But, unless you’re paying for WordPress.com hosting, there is no need to log into their site.

All changes to your local WordPress site (e.g. installing plugins) should be done from the Softaculous login for your installation of WordPress.

7 Likes

Copy that…
One clarification…
I don’t have WordPress installed on softaculous…
Can you make sense of that?