Right, I think there are some things I should clarify. We’re pretty clear and transparent about how our account inactivity system works, but I do realize now that this information is mainly displayed in the client area for inactive accounts and in the email notifications we send, and that you might not have seen either of those.
So here are some things I think I should make clear:
- InfinityFree provides free hosting, but all accounts have operational costs. This includes system memory and server resources, not just disk space. We have activity requirements to help manage these costs while maintaining service quality.
- All hosting accounts must receive at least 5 hits every 30 days to be considered active. This rule is applied to all accounts equally, regardless of their size, age, or the number of websites on them.
- When an account is considered inactive, the following happens:
- The account is first suspended. The account is locked in place, the website will be down, but the contents will remain on the server.
- While the account is suspended, you can reactivate it any time yourself through the client area. A single button click is all you need.
- After ~3 weeks of suspension, the account is fully deleted.
- There are no other requirements to retain your account. There are no time limits and you don’t need to login to the client area, control panel, FTP server or forum. In fact, you don’t need to interact with our hosting or your website at all. As long as someone is using your website, that’s reason enough for us to keep it online.
- Deleted really means deleted. Your account was suspended on the 29th of July, and deleted on the 26th of August. The entire account, along with all contents, was permanently removed from our servers at that time. There is no possibility to recover anything from it.
If you would like to give it another shot, please create a new hosting account. Your free subdomain was released when the account was deleted, so you’re free to register it on a new account.
Just please make sure that your profile is linked to an email address that can receive our messages and that you check regularly. So if you do get messages again about your account being taken down, you can take action to prevent this from happening again.