IP's, trustworthiness, VPS services, SEO and the kitchen sink

Hi TukmArg,

As a hosting provider, I would tell you that’s the case because upgrading means more $.

As a decade-long web developer, I would tell you that it depends on both the IP reputation and hosting provider reputation as well as your website’s content quality.

Certain hosting companies that have a poor track record of hosting spammy sites and phishing sites will impact subsequent website scores internally, even if they do no admit it, except for the search engines hosting platform - that is of course.

If you are looking to grow big on your business, look for hosting that provides dedicated IP with good reputations (check on AbuseIPDB) and then work on new quality content using that IP to build SEO authority on that. The reason why IPs are associated is because spam and scams usually take advantage of low-cost shared hostings to increase their impact with very low cost hence efficiency. Hosting companies that limit website counts would definitely be a bummer for these guys and hence uphold a relatively better IP reputation overall.

As a reminder, hosting is not the only factor that affects your SEO. Your content and code quality also matter at a higher weight.

Cheers!

2 Likes

I don’t think it works like that. IP addresses are scarce, so I’m pretty sure no search engine will put any weight on that. Especially when many websites nowadays use Cloudflare, which entirely masks which provider the site is hosted on, and puts it all on Cloudflare’s shared IPs.

Sure, a provider that’s known for being a safe haven for scam sites may be penalized. But then all their IP addresses will be blocked. A dedicated IP address in a scam network looks much more suspicious than a shared IP from a reputable provider.

I don’t know of any hosting provider that still provides dedicated IPs with web hosting, because there is just no reason to have it.